A Quick Update – 6/21/12


Life has been busy. I haven’t been reading as much as I’d like, and I’ve got quite a lot of it to do, so here’s a preview of what’s coming… since it’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything.

I’ve just finished “The Fellowship of the Ring” and at this point I’ll have to put my Middle-earth goal on hold until I can get through the rest of the things outlined here.

I have two books that I have to review for publishers. One is a sequel to “Breath of Angel” which I read last year. So, I will be re-reading that one next. Then I’ll read and review the sequel. After that, I’ll read and review the other book by John Osteen.

Once those are done I’ll be re-reading Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee’s “Forbidden” and reading part two, “Mortal.” After this, I’ll most likely go back to Middle-earth and pick up with “The Two Towers.”

At this point, I’m not posting any review for “Fellowship.” I had hoped to read all three books of the trilogy back-to-back, compare them to the movies and then write something. I still plan to do the composite post for the entire Trilogy, but it will be a bit further down the road.

I’m also still reading the Historical Theology that I was supposed to finish in May. I fell off of my 30 page a day reading plan and I have a way to go. It’s a wonderful resource. I have yet to decide if I’m going to do a review post for it.

So, that’s the plan. I’m going to try to get through these as quickly as possible. The number of books I have to read on my shelves is getting beyond ridiculous. I was laying off of review books, but I had requested the Osteen book earlier in the year and it didn’t come out until about a month ago. The sequel to “Breath of Angel” was a must-get. I was actually waiting to see if it was going to be offered. After these, I’ll take a break from reviewing for publishers until I can read most of what I have already on my shelves. It’s going to take a while, but I will still be posting reviews for everything I read as I’ve always done. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “A Quick Update – 6/21/12

  1. Hey Jessica, thanks for the update🙂
    It’s good life has been busy, but it definitely affects the reading/reviewing schedule. I’m wondering, did you enjoy fellowship of the ring? Its been a long time since I read it and I remember it being very long and not a lot of adventure, mostly the characters traveled. I think reviewing the trilogy and then comparing them to the movies is very clever, but it’s also good to be flexible so you can review these other books as well. Looking forward to your other reviews regardless of the order you decide; hope you’re enjoying each book🙂 Blessings, Kara

    Like

    • Thanks, Kara. Yes, I did enjoy The Fellowship. It is true that the characters mostly travel, but it’s the creation of Tolkien’s world that is so wonderful. The land is a character all on its own, and the history goes so deep that it’s hard to imagine these characters are fiction. But now I’ve gone and practically started witing a review.🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

