Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd


Byrd-MistOfMidnight     Rebecca Ravenshaw has spent most of her life in India, where her parents were missionaries. After their deaths in a violent Indian uprising, Rebecca returns home to England to claim her family estate. There’s one problem: someone claiming to be Rebecca Ravenshaw had returned home less than a year before, and had recently died. Now Rebecca must prove to everyone, including the charming, yet suspicious, Captain Luke Whitfield, who has taken over her father’s estate, that she is who she says she is.

This is the first book I’ve read by Sandra Byrd, and it won’t be the last. I can’t even express how much I loved this book. I hated to put it down.

It is just descriptive enough to set the scene without getting bogged down by details. The characters are distinct and layered.

I usually stay away from Christian romance novels, because I find them to be sappy and predictable. I took a chance on this one because it is a Gothic Romance, and I couldn’t be happier that I did. The mystery kept me guessing to the end. But the important part was the romance. It wasn’t sappy. It was engaging. It’s a slow build: the tension of a wanting look, the anticipation of a touch, the thrill of an unspoken attraction. And, of course, the mystery of it all makes it feel dangerous.

I’ve already ordered the second novel in this series, Daughters of Hampshire, and I plan to read it as soon as I get it.

1) Overall Plot = 5
2) Characters = 5
3) Flow/Pace of the story = 5
4) Is the story easy to follow? = 5
5) Overall Enjoyability = 5

Average of score 5 out of 5

Where to buy the book: CBD | Amazon | B&N
Visit the author’s website.

2 thoughts on “Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

Leave a Reply

