The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart


Stewart-TheIvyTreeWhen Connor Winslow meets Mary Grey, he mistakes her for his assumed dead cousin, Annabel. Mary soon discovers that if Annabel were alive she would receive an inheritance that Connor wanted for himself. The two come up with a scheme to bring “Annabel” home and make sure Connor gets what he wants. But hidden secrets could foil their plans, and life and death hang in the balance as Mary wonders just what Connor is willing to do to succeed.

I’ve read reviews that have said this is not Mary Stewart’s best work, and because of that, I may give another of her novels a chance. This book, however, left me wanting. There were moments when I honestly couldn’t close the book, but they were few and far between. Mostly, it’s filled with descriptions of land and horses that last several paragraphs to several pages.

The story itself was interesting, and it had some twists. But here is another area where I felt a little cheated. I honestly guessed a main twist pretty early on in the book, but there were several instances in the story where I thought it couldn’t possibly be right because of “Annabel’s” reaction. Well, I was pretty surprised to find out that I had been right all along. I tried to think back over those parts where I thought I was wrong, and it just felt…. off.

Overall, when it was good it was really good, but it wasn’t good enough for long enough.

1) Overall Plot = 3.5
2) Characters = 3.5
3) Flow/Pace of the story =3. 5
4) Is the story easy to follow? = 4
5) Overall Enjoyability = 3

Average of score 3.5 out of 5

Where to buy the book: Amazon | B&N

 

One thought on “The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart

  1. I found you accidently and noticed that you review books. My book just came out in April and I am looking for reviewers. The Living Miracle A Love Story begins in the year 3044. It is a Godless world. Instead of sending the apocalypse God sends a synthetic girl and this is her story. The Living Miracle is a love story with a Christian/sci-fi twist. So far it is getting great reviews. You can find out more about the book at my blog: fiddledeedeebooks.wordpress.com under the category -My Novels. It is on Amazon, B&N, & Goodreads. I am happy to send a free PDF if you are interested in reviewing the book for me.
    Dee Vaal

    Like

Leave a Reply

