The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki


Pataki-AccidentalEmpress     It is 1853, and Europe’s most powerful Emperor, the young Franz Joseph, is ready to take a wife.

Elisabeth, known as Sisi to her family, accompanies her sister Helene, Franz Joseph’s chosen bride, to meet the Emperor. Sisi finds herself attracted to a young officer, and he seems to return her admiring glances, but things take a turn when she realizes that he is no mere officer, but Franz Joseph himself. He is drawn to her, and soon withdraws his arrangement to marry Helene, and declares is intention to marry Sisi.

Though as a Duchess of Bavaria, Sisi is no commoner, nothing in her life has prepared her for life as Empress. She soon realizes her life is more than just being wife of Franz, and his life is certainly more than just being her husband.

I wanted to love this book. I really did, but I ended up quitting halfway through. It’s not that the writing is bad. Far from it. Pataki’s characters come alive and the settings are described just beautifully. For me, I think this was more of a misunderstanding of what was to come, and a severe dislike for one character in particular. I think I will keep the book and try to read it again another time. If I do, I will most certainly review it again. As for now, I feel like I have to move on.

1) Overall Plot = 3.5
2) Characters = 4.5
3) Flow/Pace of the story = 4
4) Is the story easy to follow? = 5
5) Overall Enjoyability = 3

Average score of 4 out of 5

Where to buy the book: Amazon | B&N

Leave a Reply

