The Travelers by Chris Pavone


Pavone-TheTravelersWill Rhodes is a travel writer who has circled the globe. Financially, he barely stays afloat, and it’s one of the many strains on his young marriage. That strain, and an exotic foreign landscape, make it easy to accept an offer from a gorgeous woman, but that irresistible offer becomes another that he can’t refuse, and his bad choices pull him into a dangerous world of spies and conspiracy.

The Travelers is marketed as a suspense/thriller, but I have to be honest,  I didn’t finish. The prologue started out well enough, with both thrills and suspense, but as the book begins, we go back in time a bit to see how Will got to that point, and it is extremely slow-going.

It’s not that the writing is bad. Pavone is a very good writer. I think my biggest issue with the novel is there was far too much description and detail. For example, there is a detailed description of a man walking down the street. I found no use in this. There are also several short sections where we see minor characters doing work in detail that probably didn’t need to be told to the reader.

At some points, I enjoyed the extra detail. There is one description in particular where Pavone makes a reference to describe how a woman looks with her shopping bags. I smiled at it. It was very vivid, if you know the reference, but that woman was a complete throw-away character. She was there to set a scene, in a way.

Which leads me to the main character, and other major characters. Basically, I didn’t like them. I couldn’t connect with them on any level. Maybe I could have pushed on if I cared about Will, but I didn’t.

This one just wasn’t for me.

Warnings: harsh language and sexual content

1) Overall Plot = 3
2) Characters = 2.5
3) Flow/Pace of the story = 1
4) Is the story easy to follow? = 3.5
5) Overall Enjoyability = 1

Average of score 2.2 out of 5

Where to buy the book: Amazon | B&N

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

